Friday, July 4, 2008

"Today in Fayetteville" January 3, 1913

Fayetteville and its people are busy in early 1913. Join me in a look at the headlines of the Fayetteville News.
                                 The Fayetteville News
                                         January 13, 1913
                                                     Home Affairs
Mr. W.C. Parrott will move on Fairburn St. next week, he comes from the western part of the county, and will be with the road gang this year.
Miss Winna Blalock Left this week for Milledgeville, where she will enter the G.N. and I College. She is attentive to her work, and no doubt will make a good Pupil.
Mr. James Harper, of Fife, has purchased the barber shop of Gilmore Garland, and promises a first class shop.  Mr. and Mrs. Harper belong to the best families of the county and our people are glad they are to make their home here another year.
Mr John Cox and family have moved to their home near Sandy Creek, They have resided here several years, and we regret to lose their citizenship, but congratulate the people of that community in having them as neighbors this year.
Miss. Hermie Means, educated at Bessie Tift Collage and Georgia State Normal with six years experience, will have charge of the primary Dept of the Fayetteville high school. Miss. Means comes to us highly recommended and is splendidly equipped by training and experience to teach primary pupils.
Miss mattie Cena Blalock and Mr. L.A, Ingram were married Tuesday morning, Rev. W.J. DeBardeleben performed the impressive ceremony in the presence of a few friends, the wedding being a quiet one. Miss. Blalock is the daughter of the Hon. A.O. Blalock, is of fine character and was on of our cities most popular young ladies. Mr. Ingram was reared in Henry County and came here about sixteen months ago. he is industrious and has proven to be one of our best young business men.
Judge S.B. Lewis retires as Ordinary and chairman of the Board of Commissioners. Mr. J.J. Davis assumed the duties of Ordinary and chairman of the board of Commissioners Wednesday. T.M. Kerlin and A.A. Coggins assumed their duties as commissioners. J.W. Dison and J.Q. Landrum assumed their duties as members.
Researched and submitted by CB Glover

No comments: